The Truth

Drones buzzing fills me

we didn’t know

who, why, how

When the mask fell

when the shell cracked

when reality seeped out

My vision went black with truth

hot, searing, undeniable truth

The drones turned their heads

eyes opening for the first time

we didn’t know

Fake smiles faltered

the shiny teeth that

usually filled them gone

Laugh lines uncreased

Friendliness unimportant

My head filled with buzzing

my body shakes with pounding

Eyes close, but my lids

display memories

Cruel memories

I cannot forget

This is the truth

Leave a Reply

